Церковь Ошакана

oshakan

Местонахождение: Арагацотнская область
Расстояние от Еревана: 29 км – 35 мин
Oснованиe: 5ый век

Ошакан напрямую связан с создателем армянского алфавита, основателем школы армянского языка и литературы Месропом Маштоцօм. Вероятным годом рождения Маштоца считается 361 год. В 394 году он стал монахом и в сопровождении своих учеников начал путешествовать в разных провинциях Армении, распространяя христианство. Месроп Маштоц устно перевел Библию на армянском языке, чтобы сделать ее понятным для армянского народа. Маштоцовский перевод Библии считается лучшым в мире. После смерти Месропа Маштоца в 440 году князь Ваан Аматуни и командир Гмаяк Мамиконян перевезли его тело в Ошакан, где князь Ваан Аматуни построил часовню в 443 году.
В 1639-45 годах Католикос Филиппос Агбакеци полностью восстановил часовню. Здание нынешней церкви Св. Месропа Маштоца было построено в 1873-79 годах католикосом Геворком Констанднуполсеци. Новая церковь представляет собой погребальный зал с овальной конструкцией.

По обеим сторонам главного алтаря находятся прямоугольные ризници, с одного из которых расположен вход в мавзолей Маштоца. Внешние фасады церкви украшены декоративными арками. В 1884 году к церкови была пристроена двухэтажная колокольня с восьмиколонной ротондой, которая уникальна в армянской архитектуре со своим цилиндрическим объемом и входом из главного алтарья. На южной стороне церкви находится памятник Ваану Аматуни (1880). Мавзолей Маштоца был отремонтирован в 1960-64 годах, а базальтовая каменная гробница была заменена надгробным камнем из оникса, окрестности церкви были улучшены. В 1962-65 гг. внутренняя часть церкви Месропа Маштоца была украшена тематическими фресками «Славо армянскому языку и литературе», у входа были вставлены две каменные памятники, напоминающие открытую книгу, на одном из которых был выгравирован армянский алфавит.
В церкви Св. Месропа Маштоца проводятся различные семинары, международные симпозиумы, а также мероприятие «’Таргманчац тон» («День переводчика»), которое символизирует изобретение армянского алфавита, первую армяночзычную Библию и начало армянского языка.

Oshakan Church

oshakan

Location: Aragatsotn region
Distance from Yerevan: 29 km – 35 min
Establishment: 5th century

Oshakan is directly connected with the creator of the Armenian alphabet, the founder of the school of Armenian language and literature Mesrop Mashtots. Probable year of Mashtots’s birth is the year 361. In 394 he became a monk and accompanied by his disciples began to travel in different provinces of Armenia, spreading Christianity. Mesrop Mashtots orally translated the Bible in Armenian to make it understandable for Armenians. His translation of the Bible is considered the best in the world. After the death of Mesrop Mashtots, in 440, prince Vahan Amatuni and commander Hmayak Mamikonyan transported his body to Oshakan, where Prince Vahan Amatuni built the chapel in 443.
In 1639-45, the Catholicos Philippos Agbaketsi completely restored the chapel. The building of the present St. Mesrop Mashtots church was built in 1873-79 by Catholicos Gevorg Constandnupolseci. The new church is a funeral hall with an oval construction. On both sides of the main altar there are rectangular sacristies, one of which is the entrance to the mausoleum of Mashtots. The exterior facades of the church are decorated with decorative stones.

In 1884, a two-story bell tower with an eight-column rotunda was added to the church, which is unique in Armenian architecture with its cylindrical volume and access to the main altar. On the south side of the church there is a monument to Vahan Amatuni (1880). Mashtots Mausoleum was renovated in 1960-64, and the basalt stone tomb was replaced by a tombstone from onyx, the neighborhood of the church was improved. In the years 1962-65 the interior of the Mesrop Mashtots’s church was decorated with thematic frescoes “Glory to Armenian language and literature”, two stone monuments resembling an open book were inserted at the entrance, on one of which was engraved the Armenian alphabet.
Various seminars, international symposiums and an event called ”Targmanchats ton” (The Translator’s Day) are held in the Church of St. Mesrop Mashtots, which symbolizes the invention of the Armenian alphabet, the first Armenian Bible and the beginning of the Armenian language